Frittata Maria

The word “Frittata,” comes from the Italian verb “friggere,” or “to fry,”with egg.   Frittata is a cost effective delicious dish to make when you are running low in the fridge and need to fix a quick easy meal packed with protein.  The difference between a “frittata” and other egg dishes is that the frittata has a mix of many different ingredients combined all at once and cooked together. It is extremely easy to make, can be served at room temperature, and has a satisfying flavor.

Beautiful Frittata

Cooking frittata reminds me of one of my most cherished friends, Maria Chellimi.  Thursday mornings I had the privilege to teach bible study to 25-30 precious ladies and although, I could tell a story about each lady,  Maria just had a way all her own.  When I would share a meal with Maria, it was like I was in a different place and I could be myself, relax and really enjoy life.  This is a wonderful example of sharing hospitality with wonderful people God brings to the different seasons of our lives.

Maria and I

 Maria would always talk about her love for God and the people she met, and loved to share little tidbits like,  Smile when people hurt you”, “You gotta love, always!”  “We have life and love; what more could you want.”  Maria loved life and she would always say “The guest deserves the best of everything.”   I couldn’t agree more, Maria.  She is a special woman and although I have had the privilege of sharing many great meals at her home, one of my favorites is this very simple Frittata. Much like her, it’s simple but packed with lots of flavor and just makes you feel good!

Frittata Maria (a.k.a. Siciliana Frittata)

2 Eggs

1 teaspoon Parsley

1 teaspoon Sea Salt

1 teaspoon Pepper

1 tablespoon Romano Cheese

2 teaspoon Olive Oil

3 bulbs chopped Garlic

1 tablespoon chopped Onion

1 teaspoon Gorgonzola Cheese

Any vegetable you want to add; I like to add leek or tomato (sparingly) for color

One of the secrets here is NOT to use milk or too much liquid!

On the stovetop on medium heat in a small fry pan, sauté garlic, onion, olive oil and vegetable; add salt and pepper to taste. While cooking the garlic mixture, in a small bowl whisk together egg, Romano cheese, parsley, salt and pepper until smooth.  As garlic and vegetable mixture begins to soften, gently add the egg mixture to the pan.   Let it settle in the pan for about 5 minutes, watching it consistently.  It should have a lovely round shape and light brown color.  When the mixture is fully cooked and firm on one side, using a spatula, flip the frittata over to cook the other side.”  When finished, slide the frittata onto your favorite plate, top with some delicious gorgonzola cheese and a side of fruit.  Tasty…

Here’s to you, Maria!

One thought on “Frittata Maria

  1. I’m from Italian heritage so it’s neat to see these Italian tid bits of info.
    My folks were a mixed group of Irish/Italian and English from Pennsylvania.
    Music was a huge past time on my mom’s side and my father’s dad was a musician in his own band, in his own restaurant.
    Thank you for the easy recipe’s . I like easy. I might be brave enough to try some of these.

Leave a Reply

