Settling In

IMG_0350Rest seems to be an old fashioned notion. The push to do more, be more, and get what you need is so strong, we often find ourselves missing important things. I remember my most anxious days; speeding to my next destination, listening to the radio and thinking about the next day or what was coming up on the weekend. All I could see where the traffic lights, cars, and a blur as I sped past life.

It was a warm inviting evening on the Space Coast, as my husband and I made our way back home. My eye caught the sight of 7-8 ducks sitting comfortably together. We stopped the truck and joined these precious creatures on the grass, and not one one of them moved from their spot. It was if to say “we’re settling into this beautiful night, tucked in a bed made by nature, while listening to the rythyms of a nearby fountain.” As I sat there, I began to reflect on how peaceful it all seemed. It’s only when we allow God to safely tuck us away from an anxious world, we can rest.

What will it take for you to “settle in” to this season and really enjoy the people, places and the things of your NOW life? A dear friend of mine will be 97 years old this year. She attributes her good health and rich life to this… contentment. Not expecting more, nor less, just being grateful for each full day.

Jer 6:16 “This is what the Lord says: “Stop at the crossroads and look around. Ask for the old, godly way, and walk in it. Travel it’s path, and you will find rest for your souls.”

One thought on “Settling In

  1. That was just what I needed today! Life was getting so crazy that it was hard for me to remember what I did the day before…that’s no way to really “live”. Ahhh…time for some rest soon! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

