For the Love of Classics

vintage 1When I think of settling in at home at the end of a long day, it always includes a party with plush pillows, warm lighting, and my classic movie collection.  I began to fall in love with the classics after a friend recommended the movie called “Separate Tables” with Rita Hayworth, Burt Lancaster, Debra Kerr and David Niven.  I knew after I had watched it at least 2 times on the same day, I was hooked!

Classic movies create a sense of mystery, drama and glamour; but I suppose what grabs my heart is the simplistic story telling mixed with elaborate settings which pull me right into the experience.  A richness of intrigue, style, and grace.   Whether it is the “drama” in the foreshadowing or the mystery behind black and white film.  Whatever intrigues of the genre interest you, the harkening back to a bygone time is enough to disconnect me from my present troubles and join the characters in their masquerade.vintage 3

I watched an interview recently with who I would consider one of the greatest actresses of our time, Bette Davis.  I was mesmerized by her love for the movie industry.   With a deep respect for her work ethic, she powerfully communicated how she wanted to be remembered… as a hard worker. Wow!  That’s the accolade of a true professional.  Her films deliver strong performances with a lasting presence time after time.

I could go on and talk about the many films I love like, Harvey with Jimmy Stewart, and the Ghost and Mrs. Muir with Gene Tierney, but perhaps you might pick one up, make a pot of coffee for friends and indulge in one of the many wonderful classic movies available.

Enjoy the ageless appeal!

vintage 2

My top five favorites:

1) Separate Tables…Rita Hayworth and Burt Lancaster

2) The Ghost and Mrs. Muir…Rex Harrision and Gene Tierney

3) Harvey…Jimmy Stewart

4) The Bishop’s Wife…Carey Grant and Loretta Young

5) Mr. Skeffington…Betty Davis and Claude Raines

2 thoughts on “For the Love of Classics

Leave a Reply

